Decision

Decision no. 2018-730 QPC of September 14, 2018

Mehdi K. [Absence of legal obligation to inform the guardian of an adult placed under a guardianship order of that adult's placement in police detention]

On 20 June 2018, the Constitutional Council, in the conditions provided for by Article 61-1 of the Constitution, received an application for a priority preliminary ruling on the issue of constitutionality raised by the Cour de cassation (criminal division, case no. 1780 of 19 June 2018). This application was made on behalf of Medhi K. by SCP Célice, Soltner, Texidor, Périer, Attorney for the Conseil d'État and for the Cour de Cassation. It was registered by the general secretariat of the Constitutional Council under no. 2018-730 QPC. It relates to the conformity with rights and freedoms that the Constitution guarantees in Article 706-113 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.

Having regard to the following texts:

  • the Constitution;
  • Ordinance No. 58-1067 of 7 November 1958, constituting an institutional act on the Constitutional Council;
  • the Code of Criminal Procedure;
  • Act No. 2008-174 of 25 February 2008 relating to preventive detention and the declaration of exemption from criminal responsibility for reason of mental disorder;
  • the Regulation of 4 February 2010 as to the procedure applicable before the Constitutional Council with respect to applications for a priority preliminary ruling on the issue of constitutionality;

Having regard to the following documents:

  • the observations on behalf of the applicant by SCP Célice, Soltner, Texidor, Périer, registered on 13 July 2018;
  • the observations of the Prime Minister, registered on 13 July 2018;
  • the documents produced and appended to the case files;
    After having heard Bertrand Périer, Attorney for the Conseil d'État and the Cour de Cassation, on behalf of the applicant, and Philippe Blanc, appointed by the Prime Minister, at the public hearing of 4 September 2018;

And after having heard the rapporteur;

THE CONSTITUTIONAL COUNCIL DECIDED THAT:

  1. The application for a priority preliminary ruling on constitutionality must be considered as relating to the provisions applicable to the legal dispute at the moment in which the application was made. Therefore, a referral to the Constitutional Council is made as provided for in Article 706-113 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, in its formulation resulting from the aforementioned Act of 25 February 2008.
  2. Article 706-113 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, in this formulation, provides that:
    “The district prosecutor or the investigating judge advises the guardian, as well as the guardianship judge, of the prosecution of the person in question. The same applies if the person is the subject of an alternative proceeding to a prosecution that consists of paying for the damage caused or of a mediation, a settlement or an appearance on prior admission of guilt, or if the person is heard as an assisted witness.
    “The guardian can examine the documents related to the proceedings under the same conditions as provided for the person being prosecuted.
    “If the person is placed in pre-trial detention, the guardian automatically has a visiting permit.
    The district prosecutor or the investigating judge advises the guardian as to decisions of discharge, dropping proceedings or acquittal, exemption from criminal responsibility for reason of mental disorder, or relating to the conviction of the person concerned.
    “The guardian is informed of the date of the hearing. When they are present at the hearing, they are heard by the court as a witness.”
  3. According to the applicant, these provisions violate the defendant's rights on the grounds that, in the event of police detention of an adult placed under a guardianship order, they do not oblige the judicial police officer to inform that person's guardian, as well as the guardianship judge. The person placed under a guardianship order does not always have the discernment necessary to exercise their rights; the absence of this guarantee cannot be replaced, when they are taken into police custody, by only notifying them of their right to inform their guardian.
  4. Consequently, the application for a priority preliminary ruling on the issue of constitutionality concerns the first section of Article 706-113 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.
  • In substance:
  1. As stated in Article 16 of the Declaration of Human and Civic Rights of 1789: “Any society in which no provision is made for guaranteeing rights or for the separation of powers, has no Constitution.” As a result of these provisions, the respect of the defendant's rights is guaranteed.
  2. In accordance with the disputed provisions, when criminal prosecution proceedings take place against an adult placed under a guardianship order, the district prosecutor or the investigating judge must inform that person's guardian, as well as the guardianship judge. The same applies if that adult placed under a guardianship order is the subject of an alternative proceeding to a prosecution that consists of paying for the damage caused or of a mediation, a settlement or an appearance on prior admission of guilt, or if that person is heard as an assisted witness. The guardian is then authorised to examine the documents related to the proceedings and benefits from several prerogatives that serve to help them preserve the rights of the adult placed under a guardianship order. These provisions do not apply to police detention.
  3. In the event of police detention, it follows however that 3° of Article 63-1 of the Code of Criminal Procedure provides that the adult placed under a guardianship order is, like any other adult suspect, immediately informed, by a judicial police officer or, under the control of said officer, by a judicial police agent, of their right to the assistance of an attorney, their right to inform certain persons close to them and, according to the conditions of Article 63-2 of the same Code, their right to communicate with those persons. The adult placed under a guardianship order may, in this case, ask for their guardian to be informed. The investigators must then, barring insurmountable circumstances or refusal related to the requirements of the investigation, establish contact with the guardian within the three hours following the request. In this case, the third section of Article 63-3-1 of the same Code provides for the guardian to be able to designate an attorney to assist the adult placed under a guardianship order during the police detention, subject to confirmation by the latter.
  4. However, neither the disputed provisions nor any other legislative provision require the police or judicial authorities to find out, at the start of police detention, if the person is under a guardianship order, and to then inform their representative of the measure to which this person is subject. As such, in the case of the adult placed under a guardianship order not asking for their guardian to be informed, that person may be unable to exercise their rights, lacking sufficient discernment or the ability to express their wishes due to mental or physical difficulty. The person may then make choices that are contrary to their interests, specifically concerning exercising their right to consult with an attorney and to be assisted by that attorney during their hearings and interactions.
  5. Therefore, not providing for this, when the elements collected during a person's police detention show that said person is under legal protection, the judicial police officer or the judicial authority under which the police detention is carried out is, in principle, obliged to notify that person's guardian in order that the person can be assisted in the exercise of their rights, since the disputed provisions violate the defendant's rights.
  6. As a result, the first section of Article 706-113 of the Code of Criminal Procedure must be declared unconstitutional.
  • Concerning the effects of the declaration of unconstitutionality:
  1. According to the second section of Article 62 of the Constitution: “A provision declared unconstitutional on the basis of Article 61-1 shall be repealed as of the publication of the said decision of the Constitutional Council or as of a subsequent date determined by said decision. The Constitutional Council shall determine the conditions and the limits according to which the effects produced by the provision shall be liable to challenge.” In principle, the declaration of unconstitutionality must benefit the person who brought the application for a priority preliminary ruling on the issue of constitutionality, and the provision declared unconstitutional may not be applied in the proceedings under way on the date of the publication of the decision of the Constitutional Council. However, the provisions of Article 62 of the Constitution maintain the right for the latter both to set the date of the repeal and to postpone its effects, and providing for challenges to the effects that the provision produced before the declaration was made.
  2. The Constitutional Council does not have a general mandate for judgements in a manner similar to that of Parliament. It is not its role to indicate the modifications that must be carried out to remedy the stated unconstitutionality. In this case, the immediate repeal of the disputed provisions would include the effect of eliminating the obligation of the district prosecutor and the investigating judge to inform the guardian, as well as the guardianship judge, in case of criminal prosecution of an adult placed under a guardianship order. It would as such result in clearly excessive consequences. As a result, the date of repeal of the disputed provisions should be postponed to 1 October 2019. The measures taken having resulted in, prior to this date, the application of provisions declared unconstitutional and the measures of police detention taken prior to this date cannot be challenged based on this unconstitutionality.

THE CONSTITUTIONAL COUNCIL DECIDES:

Article 1. - The first section of Article 706-113 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, in its formulation resulting from Act No. 2008-174 of 25 February 2008 relating to preventive detention and the declaration of exemption from criminal responsibility for reason of mental disorder, is unconstitutional.

Article 2. - The declaration of unconstitutionality of Article 1 becomes effective according to the conditions of paragraph 12 of this decision.

Article 3. - This decision will be published in the Journal Officiel of the French Republic and notified in the manner provided for in Article 23-11 of the aforementioned Ordinance of 7 November 1958.

Ruled by the Constitutional Council in its 13 September 2018 session, with the following members present: Lionel JOSPIN, acting as President, Jean-Jacques HYEST, Dominique LOTTIN, Corinne LUQUIENS, Nicole MAESTRACCI and Michel PINAULT.

Published on 14 September 2018.

Décision

Décision n° 2018-730 QPC du 14 septembre 2018

M. Mehdi K. [Absence d'obligation légale d'aviser le tuteur ou le curateur d'un majeur protégé de son placement en garde à vue]
Non conformité totale - effet différé

LE CONSEIL CONSTITUTIONNEL A ÉTÉ SAISI le 20 juin 2018 par la Cour de cassation (chambre criminelle, arrêt n° 1780 du 19 juin 2018), dans les conditions prévues à l'article 61-1 de la Constitution, d'une question prioritaire de constitutionnalité. Cette question a été posée pour M. Mehdi K. par la SCP Célice, Soltner, Texidor, Périer, avocat au Conseil d'État et à la Cour de cassation. Elle a été enregistrée au secrétariat général du Conseil constitutionnel sous le n° 2018-730 QPC. Elle est relative à la conformité aux droits et libertés que la Constitution garantit de l'article 706-113 du code de procédure pénale.

Au vu des textes suivants :

  • la Constitution ;
  • l'ordonnance n° 58-1067 du 7 novembre 1958 portant loi organique sur le Conseil constitutionnel ;
  • le code de procédure pénale ;
  • la loi n° 2008-174 du 25 février 2008 relative à la rétention de sûreté et à la déclaration d'irresponsabilité pénale pour cause de trouble mental ;
  • le règlement du 4 février 2010 sur la procédure suivie devant le Conseil constitutionnel pour les questions prioritaires de constitutionnalité ;

Au vu des pièces suivantes :

  • les observations présentées pour le requérant par la SCP Célice, Soltner, Texidor, Périer, enregistrées le 13 juillet 2018 ;
  • les observations présentées par le Premier ministre, enregistrées le 13 juillet 2018 ;
  • les pièces produites et jointes au dossier ;

Après avoir entendu Me Bertrand Périer, avocat au Conseil d'État et à la Cour de cassation, pour le requérant, et M. Philippe Blanc, désigné par le Premier ministre, à l'audience publique du 4 septembre 2018 ;

Et après avoir entendu le rapporteur ;

LE CONSEIL CONSTITUTIONNEL S'EST FONDÉ SUR CE QUI SUIT :

  1. La question prioritaire de constitutionnalité doit être considérée comme portant sur les dispositions applicables au litige à l'occasion duquel elle a été posée. Dès lors, le Conseil constitutionnel est saisi de l'article 706-113 du code de procédure pénale, dans sa rédaction résultant de la loi du 25 février 2008 mentionnée ci-dessus.

  2. L'article 706-113 du code de procédure pénale, dans cette rédaction, prévoit :« Le procureur de la République ou le juge d'instruction avise le curateur ou le tuteur, ainsi que le juge des tutelles, des poursuites dont la personne fait l'objet. Il en est de même si la personne fait l'objet d'une alternative aux poursuites consistant en la réparation du dommage ou en une médiation, d'une composition pénale ou d'une comparution sur reconnaissance préalable de culpabilité ou si elle est entendue comme témoin assisté.
    « Le curateur ou le tuteur peut prendre connaissance des pièces de la procédure dans les mêmes conditions que celles prévues pour la personne poursuivie.
    « Si la personne est placée en détention provisoire, le curateur ou le tuteur bénéficie de plein droit d'un permis de visite.
    « Le procureur de la République ou le juge d'instruction avise le curateur ou le tuteur des décisions de non-lieu, de relaxe, d'acquittement, d'irresponsabilité pénale pour cause de trouble mental, ou de condamnation dont la personne fait l'objet.
    « Le curateur ou le tuteur est avisé de la date d'audience. Lorsqu'il est présent à l'audience, il est entendu par la juridiction en qualité de témoin ».

  3. Selon le requérant, ces dispositions méconnaîtraient les droits de la défense au motif que, en cas de placement en garde à vue d'un majeur protégé, elles n'imposent pas à l'officier de police judiciaire d'aviser son curateur ou son tuteur, ainsi que le juge des tutelles. La personne protégée ne disposant pas toujours du discernement nécessaire à l'exercice de ses droits, l'absence de cette garantie ne saurait être suppléée, lors de son placement en garde à vue, par la seule notification de son droit de faire prévenir son curateur ou son tuteur.

  4. Par conséquent, la question prioritaire de constitutionnalité porte sur le premier alinéa de l'article 706-113 du code de procédure pénale.

- Sur le fond :

  1. Selon l'article 16 de la Déclaration des droits de l'homme et du citoyen de 1789 : « Toute société dans laquelle la garantie des droits n'est pas assurée, ni la séparation des pouvoirs déterminée, n'a point de Constitution ». Il résulte de ces dispositions qu'est garanti le respect des droits de la défense.

  2. En application des dispositions contestées, lorsque des poursuites pénales sont engagées à l'encontre d'un majeur protégé, le procureur de la République ou le juge d'instruction doit en informer son curateur ou son tuteur, ainsi que le juge des tutelles. Il en va de même lorsque le majeur protégé fait l'objet d'une alternative aux poursuites consistant en la réparation du dommage ou en une médiation, d'une composition pénale ou d'une comparution sur reconnaissance préalable de culpabilité ou lorsqu'il est entendu comme témoin assisté. Le curateur ou le tuteur est alors autorisé à prendre connaissance des pièces de la procédure et bénéficie de plusieurs prérogatives visant à lui permettre d'assurer la préservation des droits du majeur protégé. Ces dispositions ne s'appliquent pas à la garde à vue.

  3. En cas de placement en garde à vue, il résulte en revanche du 3° de l'article 63-1 du code de procédure pénale que le majeur protégé est, comme tout autre suspect majeur, immédiatement informé par un officier de police judiciaire ou, sous le contrôle de celui-ci, par un agent de police judiciaire, de ses droits d'être assisté par un avocat, de faire prévenir certaines personnes de son entourage et, dans les conditions prévues à l'article 63-2 du même code, de communiquer avec elles. Le majeur protégé peut, à ce titre, demander à faire prévenir son curateur ou son tuteur. Les enquêteurs doivent alors, sauf circonstances insurmontables ou refus lié aux nécessités de l'enquête, prendre contact avec le curateur ou le tuteur dans les trois heures suivant la demande. Dans ce cas, le troisième alinéa de l'article 63-3-1 du même code prévoit que le curateur ou le tuteur peut désigner un avocat pour assister le majeur protégé au cours de la garde à vue, sous réserve de confirmation par ce dernier.

  4. Toutefois, ni les dispositions contestées ni aucune autre disposition législative n'imposent aux autorités policières ou judiciaires de rechercher, dès le début de la garde à vue, si la personne entendue est placée sous curatelle ou sous tutelle et d'informer alors son représentant de la mesure dont elle fait l'objet. Ainsi, dans le cas où il n'a pas demandé à ce que son curateur ou son tuteur soit prévenu, le majeur protégé peut être dans l'incapacité d'exercer ses droits, faute de discernement suffisant ou de possibilité d'exprimer sa volonté en raison de l'altération de ses facultés mentales ou corporelles. Il est alors susceptible d'opérer des choix contraires à ses intérêts, au regard notamment de l'exercice de son droit de s'entretenir avec un avocat et d'être assisté par lui au cours de ses auditions et confrontations.

  5. Dès lors, en ne prévoyant pas, lorsque les éléments recueillis au cours de la garde à vue d'une personne font apparaître qu'elle fait l'objet d'une mesure de protection juridique, que l'officier de police judiciaire ou l'autorité judiciaire sous le contrôle de laquelle se déroule la garde à vue soit, en principe, tenu d'avertir son curateur ou son tuteur afin de lui permettre d'être assistée dans l'exercice de ses droits, les dispositions contestées méconnaissent les droits de la défense.

  6. Par suite, le premier alinéa de l'article 706-113 du code de procédure pénale doit être déclaré contraire à la Constitution.

- Sur les effets de la déclaration d'inconstitutionnalité :

  1. Selon le deuxième alinéa de l'article 62 de la Constitution : « Une disposition déclarée inconstitutionnelle sur le fondement de l'article 61-1 est abrogée à compter de la publication de la décision du Conseil constitutionnel ou d'une date ultérieure fixée par cette décision. Le Conseil constitutionnel détermine les conditions et limites dans lesquelles les effets que la disposition a produits sont susceptibles d'être remis en cause ». En principe, la déclaration d'inconstitutionnalité doit bénéficier à l'auteur de la question prioritaire de constitutionnalité et la disposition déclarée contraire à la Constitution ne peut être appliquée dans les instances en cours à la date de la publication de la décision du Conseil constitutionnel. Cependant, les dispositions de l'article 62 de la Constitution réservent à ce dernier le pouvoir tant de fixer la date de l'abrogation et de reporter dans le temps ses effets que de prévoir la remise en cause des effets que la disposition a produits avant l'intervention de cette déclaration.

  2. Le Conseil constitutionnel ne dispose pas d'un pouvoir général d'appréciation de même nature que celui du Parlement. Il ne lui appartient pas d'indiquer les modifications qui doivent être retenues pour qu'il soit remédié à l'inconstitutionnalité constatée. En l'espèce, l'abrogation immédiate des dispositions contestées aurait notamment pour effet de supprimer l'obligation pour le procureur de la République et le juge d'instruction d'aviser le curateur ou le tuteur, ainsi que le juge des tutelles, en cas de poursuites pénales à l'encontre d'un majeur protégé. Elle entraînerait ainsi des conséquences manifestement excessives. Par suite, il y a lieu de reporter au 1er octobre 2019 la date de l'abrogation des dispositions contestées. Les mesures prises ayant donné lieu, avant cette date, à l'application des dispositions déclarées contraires à la Constitution et les mesures de garde à vue prises avant cette date ne peuvent être contestées sur le fondement de cette inconstitutionnalité.

LE CONSEIL CONSTITUTIONNEL DÉCIDE :

Article 1er. - Le premier alinéa de l'article 706-113 du code de procédure pénale, dans sa rédaction résultant de la loi n° 2008-174 du 25 février 2008 relative à la rétention de sûreté et à la déclaration d'irresponsabilité pénale pour cause de trouble mental, est contraire à la Constitution.

Article 2. - La déclaration d'inconstitutionnalité de l'article 1er prend effet dans les conditions fixées au paragraphe 12 de cette décision.

Article 3. - Cette décision sera publiée au Journal officiel de la République française et notifiée dans les conditions prévues à l'article 23-11 de l'ordonnance du 7 novembre 1958 susvisée.

Jugé par le Conseil constitutionnel dans sa séance du 13 septembre 2018, où siégeaient : M. Lionel JOSPIN, exerçant les fonctions de Président, M. Jean-Jacques HYEST, Mmes Dominique LOTTIN, Corinne LUQUIENS, Nicole MAESTRACCI et M. Michel PINAULT.

JORF n°0213 du 15 septembre 2018, texte n° 56
ECLI:FR:CC:2018:2018.730.QPC

Toutes les décisions